2010 Nobel Peace Prize Winner: Liu Xiaobo

October 14, 2010 | 3:09 PM

Yesterday marked the fourth anniversary of Professor Mohammad Yunus and the Grameen Bank’s award of the Nobel Peace Prize. This exciting moment in Grameen history comes on the heels of the announcement of the 2010 Nobel Peace Prize. This year’s recipient Liu Xiaobo (Pictured left) was honored for his “long and non-violent struggle for fundamental human rights in China”. The Dalai Lama, Desmond Tutu and Vaclav Havel all lobbied on Liu Xiaobo’s behalf to receive the award.

Liu Xiaobo’s career has been defined by peaceful protests including Tiananmen Square in 1989. In 2009, he was sentenced to 11 years in prison for co-authoring the Charter 08 Manifesto, which was aimed at increasing overall human rights in China and promoting a democratic system of government. He is still in jail for his involvement in signing the document and was unable to receive the award in person. President Obama described Liu as “eloquent and courageous” and called for his release.

While this year’s recipient is not associated with Grameen, Professor Yunus, or microfinance, it is important to recognize the Nobel Foundations commitment to supporting human rights and progressive thinking around the world. We congratulate Liu Xiaobo and hope that he will be able to receive his award in person soon.


Privacy Statement | Terms of Use | Contact Us | Sitemap